Controllerless Networks

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Instant Mode - the controllerless Wi-Fi solution that's easy to set up, is loaded with security and smarts, and won't break your budget
Expand all | Collapse all

Setup Dynamic Vlans

This thread has been viewed 22 times
  • 1.  Setup Dynamic Vlans

Posted Aug 12, 2013 07:31 PM

So I'm trying to setup dynamic Vlans on an employee wireless connection using IAP 105s with a Windows server 2008 Radius server backend. I want to be able to direct users to several different /24 vlans based off their groups in AD (or some other attribute). I am completely new to setting up Radius with VSAs. How do I add the VSA attributes and how do they connect through to the IAPs? Can this be done with a windows based radius server?

I already have the radius server authenticating users. That works perfectly, now I need it to tell the iaps which vlan users go on to.

• 2.  RE: Setup Dynamic Vlans

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Aug 12, 2013 07:37 PM

If you click the edit button next to the network name, then go to the VLAN tab, change the Client VLAN Assignment to dynamic. You can then set up rules based on attributes coming back via RADIUS. This is similar to server-derived rules on the mobility controller side.

iap-vlanassign.PNG

• 3.  RE: Setup Dynamic Vlans
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Aug 12, 2013 07:42 PM

For the Windows NPS server side, create multiple "Network Policies" for each type of user (each unique attribute). Order the rules with the most specific group membership at the top.

Set the condition of the policy to be the AD User Group. Then on the settings page, you can assign a standard RADIUS Filter-ID attribute which can be anything you want. You then take that filter-ID text and create the rule above ^.

iap-radius-nps1.PNG

iap-radius-nps2.PNG

iap-radius-nps3.PNG

• 4.  RE: Setup Dynamic Vlans

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Aug 12, 2013 07:59 PM