Developer

last person joined: 7 days ago 

Expand all | Collapse all

Upgrading/downgrading Aruba 2530 firmware using Ansible via REST API

This thread has been viewed 6 times
  • 1.  Upgrading/downgrading Aruba 2530 firmware using Ansible via REST API

Posted Oct 21, 2019 03:37 AM

Heyhey,

I am doing my thesis and using Ansible to make a platform for an easier way to push confs to a group of switches. I am trying to upgrade/downgrade (basically just trying to get the playbook/task working) my 2530 test switch. I am using aruba-switch-ansible modules. Currently the playbook gives me an error at "Upgrade Firmware via API" saying that switch_session is undefined at /aruba-switch-ansible/aruba_task_lists/aos_switch/firmware_upgrade.yml starting from line 112. It's not mentioned that I should assigne the variable myself and that variable is not assigned anywhere known to my knowledge unless it should be automatically assigned by Ansible. I have no clue what the information inside the variable should be so I cannot assign it myself either.

TASK [Upgrade Firmware via API] ****************************************************************************************************************************************
    task path: /home/user/ansible/test/aruba-switch-ansible/aruba_task_lists/aos_switch/firmware_upgrade.yml:112
    fatal: [test_switch]: FAILED! => {
        "msg": "The task includes an option with an undefined variable. The error was: 'switch_session' is undefined

The error appears to be in '/home/user/ansible/aruba-switch-ansible/aruba_task_lists/aos_switch/firmware_upgrade.yml': line 112, column 11, but may
    be elsewhere in the file depending on the exact syntax problem.

The offending line appears to be:

- name: Upgrade Firmware via API
    ^ here
    " }

Can provide information as needed and asked! :)

Thanks in advance!

- Riku

• 2.  RE: Upgrading/downgrading Aruba 2530 firmware using Ansible via REST API

Posted Oct 21, 2019 06:53 PM

Hi Riku!