Network Management

last person joined: yesterday 

Keep an informative eye on your network with HPE Aruba Networking network management solutions
Expand all | Collapse all

Airwave - Manage Switch

This thread has been viewed 44 times
  • 1.  Airwave - Manage Switch

Posted Mar 19, 2019 12:33 PM

Hi All,

I am new to Airwave, my Airwave server is up and running.  I've created some groups and added all of my AP's and switches into a group using monitor mode.

so now I'm curious about the steps to enable management of the switches.  Because they are in production, I want to avoid pushing any configuration down to the them.  I simply want to be able to make changes from the Airwave interface that pushed down to a specific switch.  

is this possible? if so, how do I configure this mode without creating any sort of template that is accidentally pushed and might bring the switch down?

• 2.  RE: Airwave - Manage Switch

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 19, 2019 12:46 PM

https://support.arubanetworks.com/Documentation/tabid/77/DMXModule/512/Command/Core_Download/Default.aspx?EntryId=32985

You donwload switch configuration guide from above link. Main point to remember to manage devices from Airwave, configuraiton of those devices should be in 'Good' Status in Airwave. If they are in Good status ,we are ready to place the device in manage mode from APs/Device>Manage page and manage config from Groups>Template page or Groups>Switch config(if you have enabled Switch GUI mode in Groups>Basic page)

Groups are configuration specific, if you have two switches with different configuration, it is recommanded to place to two different group and import setting to make the config as Good.

If configuraiton is similar then we can place both in same group and import the configuraiton from any one device to airwave , other device config will be audited with this config.

thumb rule is similarconfiguraiton devices to be placed in same group to to avoid mismatch.