Network Management

last person joined: yesterday 

Keep an informative eye on your network with HPE Aruba Networking network management solutions
Expand all | Collapse all

Airwave and Controller Rogue Detection

This thread has been viewed 10 times
  • 1.  Airwave and Controller Rogue Detection

Posted Oct 13, 2015 09:42 AM

Hi All

I have a customer with a master local controller setup running AOS 6.4.2.4 on a pair of 7210's. We also have airwave configured and one of the main reasons for this was Rogue detection and alerting.

Currently, the controller can see one rogue on the security tab on dashboard. Airwave is also showing a rogue, which is great. Except, they aren't the same device.

Airwave says it learnt the rogue classification from a controller classification but the rogue Airwave knows about is not listed on the controller.

Even more strangely, even though the dashboard on the controller still shows one rogue, if I do 'show wms ap list' on the CLI, there are no rogues listed.

Airwave version is 8.0.6.3

Any help much appreciated

• 2.  RE: Airwave and Controller Rogue Detection
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Oct 13, 2015 09:47 AM

Please read the airwave rogue classification chapter here:  http://www.arubanetworks.com/techdocs/AirWave_8_0_Web_Help/UserGuide.htm#AWUserGuide/Chapter6_RAPIDS/Using_RAPIDS_and_Rogue_Classification.htm#07rapids_1654598663_27976

Airwave has rules on top of what it learns from the controller about what to classify as a rogue, so you can expect more "rogues" from Airwave, just based on classification.  Rules can be relaxed or tightened based on what you consider a rogue.

• 3.  RE: Airwave and Controller Rogue Detection

Posted Oct 13, 2015 10:25 AM