Network Management

last person joined: yesterday 

Keep an informative eye on your network with HPE Aruba Networking network management solutions
Expand all | Collapse all

IMC vs Airwave

This thread has been viewed 23 times
  • 1.  IMC vs Airwave

Posted Jun 07, 2018 04:05 PM

Hi everybody,

Does anyone have a comparative about IMC vs Airwave?  What are the pros and cons of both management solutions?

• 2.  RE: IMC vs Airwave
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jun 07, 2018 06:02 PM

I'm not an expert at IMC, but from what I've seen, I can generalize things as:

IMC:

Geared towards what's in your data center, the wired side of things.  It provides in-depth visibility into ports with a capturing path from the gateway uplink to the edge switches - and knowledge of the what terminates on those edge switch ports.  This is infrastructure troubleshooting.

AirWave:

View of both the WLAN and the LAN.  A view from the client association path through the APs, controllers, and switches.  Provides trending and reporting, as well as alerts.  I consider this client side troubleshooting, meant to provide clients the best QOS.  There's also a roadmap to increase LAN visibility to be comparable to IMC.

Wired:

If you're dealing with only wired side issues, IMC is the current path.

Wireless:

If you're looking for coverage of the wireless, then AirWave is the way to go.

Both:

If you're looking for wired and wireless, you might try AirWave alone.  Since the wired coverage isn't complete in AirWave, you might also consider trying to run both products.

• 3.  RE: IMC vs Airwave
    Best Answer

Posted Jun 08, 2018 07:35 AM