Network Management

last person joined: yesterday 

Keep an informative eye on your network with HPE Aruba Networking network management solutions
Expand all | Collapse all

IPAM that plays well with Airwave?

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  IPAM that plays well with Airwave?

Posted Feb 27, 2014 10:06 AM

Hello,

I haven't been able to find much info about Airwave and IPAM. I am a new network admin and joined a network as the sole administrator. The only problem is, there was no documentation left for me. 

Our current DHCP server is an A10 Networks ID 1100, we are looking at eventually running DHCP from our Domain controllers.

The problem is not only DHCP either, I find out every few days there are different servers that run on static IP ranges that I've not seen anywhere else. 

So honestly, I'm just looking for a way to track/log used IPs so that I can tell if my pools are sized appropriately, and so that I can ensure that our static ranges are not getting muddled and that we don't accidentally reuse an IP. 

My Network is mostly aruba, 7210 Controller, Mobility Switches, Clearpass, and Airwave. We have less than 1000 users, but each user has multiple devices (This is a Higher Ed Network). Honestly, I would love it if Airwave had an IP management interface, but I haven't found anything mentioned yet. So if Airwave is not the solution, what would be recommended? 

• 2.  RE: IPAM that plays well with Airwave?

Posted Feb 27, 2014 10:44 AM

This is a whole 'nother deal, but I would not recommend running DHCP on your DC's.  Separate out your duties, and make DHCP it's own server.  This can be argued either way, but it's definitely my preference.