Network Management

last person joined: yesterday 

Keep an informative eye on your network with HPE Aruba Networking network management solutions
Expand all | Collapse all

No info on "AirWave OVA for vSphere" except...it exists

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  No info on "AirWave OVA for vSphere" except...it exists

Posted Apr 16, 2012 08:41 PM

Hi folks, 'nother Aruba noob here.  We would like to try AirWave via the OVA file downloadable from the web, before we dedicate a box to it (we are planning on <100 APs, tops).  I have d/l'd the OVA zip file, and I can find docs on installing the AMP software on CentOS, but aside from the OVA file itself...zip (pun intended).

Can someone 

• Point me to more documentation on the OVA, or
    • Tell me the state of the VM/AirWave when I boot the VM, or
    • Tell me I'm better off making my own VM and just installing CentOS/AirWave onto it 'manually.'

One thing I notice is the VM appears to be A/W 7.4.5 where 7.4.8 appears to be current from the 'a la carte' downloads.  Also, the first d/l I did was 'corrupt' as I could not extract any of the files.  OTOH the second d/l seems to have only one file, the OVA itself.

Thanks!

Paul

• 2.  RE: No info on "AirWave OVA for vSphere" except...it exists

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Apr 16, 2012 11:45 PM
      |   view attached

I would try the ISO and use the quickstart instructions attached.  

Attachment(s)

pdf
    AirWaveQuickStartGuide74.pdf   206 KB 1 version

• 3.  RE: No info on "AirWave OVA for vSphere" except...it exists

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Apr 17, 2012 08:13 AM

And upgrading is as simple as putting the 7.4.8 upgrade tar.gz in /root and running the command: start_amp_upgrade -v 7.4.8

• 4.  RE: No info on "AirWave OVA for vSphere" except...it exists

Posted Apr 17, 2012 03:29 PM

cjoseph, thanks for the opinion.  zjennings, thanks for the tip.

But together this is still conflicting advice...;^)