Network Management

last person joined: yesterday 

Keep an informative eye on your network with HPE Aruba Networking network management solutions
Expand all | Collapse all

Scanning Network for new AP:s. "Note"

This thread has been viewed 8 times
  • 1.  Scanning Network for new AP:s. "Note"

Posted Nov 28, 2018 04:59 AM

Hi,

Im quite new to Aruba and have been tasked with managing a quite big network consisting of 2 controller (Master + Local) and a Airwave.

I seem to be missing a few of the newer AP:s in the Airwave. So I was going to run a network scan in the discover menu so I could add these new AP:s to our monitoring and maps in Airwave.

However, there is one "note" that I have some issues with. It says: "Note: The IP address for authorized devices may be overwritten as part of a scan".

Can someone please explain to me what this means? How can a scan overwrite an IP address of a device? I have arround 10 new 315 accesspoints I want to add to the airwave but I dont want to break any kind of configuration running this scan.

Airwave version is 8.2. Controller versions are 6.5.

Thank you.

• 2.  RE: Scanning Network for new AP:s. "Note"

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 28, 2018 06:00 AM

If you are monitoring a controller with access points connected with Airwave, Airwave discovers new access points by polling the controller via SNMP, which happens automatically.  You should not have to do a scan.  Where those new access points turn up depend on the setting under AMP Setup> General> Automatic Authorization> Add new Thin APs Location.

If that setting is "New Device List", the access points you added should be in the new device list and would need to be moved to a folder to be monitored.  Otherwise those new devices would be automatically moved based on whatever setting it has.

• 3.  RE: Scanning Network for new AP:s. "Note"

Posted Nov 28, 2018 10:13 AM

Thank you for the reply.

The "New device list" is empty im afraid.