Security

last person joined: 10 hours ago 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Apple HomeKit, mDNS, & Airgroup

This thread has been viewed 10 times
  • 1.  Apple HomeKit, mDNS, & Airgroup

Posted Jan 20, 2019 02:33 PM

Good day,

I have a home lab set up and I'm looking for guidance on HomeKit functionality that relies on mDNS. While I have an IT and networking background, I am not a network engineer. I am not clear if I need to utilize AirGroup in my home environment.

Basics: 

3600 running 6.3.1.25

5 IAP's (225's)

Single VLAN

Recently changed from "Tunnel" to "Bridge" mode.

My HomeKit devices report "Not Responding" occasionally. I expected this during build out as I had Client Aware off while the 5 IAP's figured out what channels and power strength were optimal. I disabled Client Aware a day later when things looked settled. 

I orignially had AirGroup on and all was well, however I disabled it when I read it was meant for forwarding mDNS and other traffic across VLAN's and still had an occasional device report "Not Responding". All seemed to work well.

I moved one of the IAP's and disabled "Client Aware" for a day again to let the controller optimize again. After disabling a day later, I still have a few "Not Responding" devices. 

What has drawn my interest is this - While the Apple Home application may report a device as "Not Responding", the devices are connected to the IAP. They have an IP. I can reach some of them via their native applications which I assume rely on their own protocol or perhaps a cloud service, so they are connected. This suggests to me there's still something I have incorrectly set that is causing issues with mDNS.

My questions are:

Does AirGroup need to be enabled for a single, flat VLAN for mDNS to work properly?