Security

last person joined: 12 hours ago 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Clearpass + WLC + Eduroam + AUP/Captive Portal

This thread has been viewed 8 times
  • 1.  Clearpass + WLC + Eduroam + AUP/Captive Portal

Posted Oct 10, 2017 03:32 PM

Hi all,

I've already emailed my local SE, but figured I'd post here to see if any airheads have any quick ideas;

My client wants their students to accept their AUP on a yearly basis. My original thought was over an open Guest SSID and use an endpoint attribute flag when the agreement has been accepted and when it needs to be re-accepted. Easy.

Then they mentioned that they were looking to do this all over EDUROAM. Now, I’m new to EDUROAM but quickly found that it is essentially 802.1X authentication over its own federated RADIUS servers, etc. Students can visit other institutions that are not their primary institution and log into the EDUROAM SSID using the credentials of their home institution.

This kind of threw a wrench into the idea due to 802.1X, and authentication happening at L2. The only potential idea I had would be to use a conditional web redirect on the WLC, redirecting the client to the AUP page if they haven’t accepted, or allowing them through if they have. Some of you probably know conditional web redirects are common when doing single-SSID onboarding (auth type = PEAP -> send to onboarding page), and works with 802.1X SSIDs as well.