Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

MAC filtering by OUI but not MAC authentication

This thread has been viewed 4 times
  • 1.  MAC filtering by OUI but not MAC authentication

Posted Oct 01, 2019 01:28 PM

I have looked at this article but it doesn't seem to fit my needs exactly. 

https://community.arubanetworks.com/t5/Controller-Based-WLANs/How-do-I-use-the-user-derivation-rule-to-set-the-role-using-a/ta-p/182426

I'm relatively new to Aruba and this is my first controller-based enterprise installation.

We have a pair of 7030s running 6.5.4.13.  We have one AP group with 3 SSIDs.  On one of those SSIDs we are having to run WEP due to some legacy equipment that is getting replaced and to support a migration to WPA2-PSK.  We aren't looking to do MAC authentication.  But we need to allow only certain MAC addresses to connect to that SSID.  Some of those MAC addresses we need to define by OUI only since there may be several dozen of them.  There are a few MAC addresses we will need to define by the full MAC address.  We want whatever method would work best to do this.

Currently the SSID works but unwanted devices can connect.  We in essence want a "permit only" for those defined MACs and a "deny all" for any that don't match.  We have some Aerohive networks (yes, sorry) where this was pretty easy to implement and actually denies even the attempt to associate to the AP except for the allowed MACs.

If possible I would like guidance for the GUI vs the CLI but will take whatever I can get.  Any help is appreciated!!  Thanks!!!

• 2.  RE: MAC filtering by OUI but not MAC authentication
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Oct 01, 2019 02:02 PM

- Create a role called "Deny" that has a single line to deny everything