Security

last person joined: 6 hours ago 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Onboarding Gaming Consoles

This thread has been viewed 4 times
  • 1.  Onboarding Gaming Consoles

Posted Apr 08, 2014 04:57 PM

Hello everyone,

I'm very new to Aruba and enterprise wifi, as a whole. I've searched the boards and found a couple posts, but the information doesn't seem to match what we have going here.

We are a smallish private liberal arts college. (Enrollment about 1300) Right now, I have a network running that is secure with 802.1x authentication against our Domain Controllers.

I have a guest network that has captive portal with email registration.

We are running Aruba 7220 conrollers, a mix of 105 and 135 APs, and Clearpass with Clearpass Guest. We also use AirWave for monitoring.

I am looking to set up a 3rd SSID to handle "dumb" devices. This would include Chromecast devices, wireless webcams and video game consoles. Is it best to put that traffic on it's own SSID, or use roles to lump that in on the Guest? If the latter, does anyone have any guidance they can point me towards on how to modify my existing rules to allow that? If the prior, Is it just setting up another SSID in my controller?

Thank you!

#AP135

• 2.  RE: Onboarding Gaming Consoles

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Apr 08, 2014 04:59 PM

You would use an existing open or PSK network. A separate SSID is not necessary. ClearPass guest has a "Guest Device" (MACTrac) feature which allows you to manually register devices that are not 802.1X or browser capable. When those devices authenticate to the network via MAC-Auth, they bypass the captive portal and are assigned the appropriate role.

• 3.  RE: Onboarding Gaming Consoles

Posted Apr 08, 2014 05:00 PM