Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Setting up basic user authentication to active directory (via radius)

This thread has been viewed 16 times
  • 1.  Setting up basic user authentication to active directory (via radius)

Posted Apr 08, 2015 09:51 PM

Using Aruba 6.3.1.15

Trying to setup a basic user only auth (to AD) wifi network.  The radius side is fine as I have gone through the AAA test.

But when a client tries to connect it asks for the username and password, but then just says it is unable to connect.

I am new to Aruba so I am probably missing something basic.  Any step by step guide out there or places to check where I may have gone wrong.

• 2.  RE: Setting up basic user authentication to active directory (via radius)

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Apr 08, 2015 09:53 PM

The controller is EAP agnostic. The issue is likely between the client and the RADIUS server.

Which RADIUS platform are you using?

Did you install a server certificate on the RADIUS server?

Does the client have the Root CA that signed the RADIUS server certificate?

• 3.  RE: Setting up basic user authentication to active directory (via radius)

Posted Apr 08, 2015 10:07 PM

Windows 2008 R2 server for radius

Ideally for this test network they want is with mininal issues for the user (so only minial use of certs).  The aim is easy of use rather then security.

Server does have a cert.  When the client trying to connect it asking to accept the cert but then says unable to connect. 

• 4.  RE: Setting up basic user authentication to active directory (via radius)
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Apr 08, 2015 11:22 PM

Please take a look at the document  here:

http://community.arubanetworks.com/aruba/attachments/aruba/115/6113/1/Using+Microsoft+Windows+2008+Server+With+Aruba.pdf