Security

last person joined: 14 hours ago 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Severe performance issues after Clearpass Onguard deployment

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  Severe performance issues after Clearpass Onguard deployment

Posted Jan 29, 2015 11:27 AM

Hello all,

I'm new to Aruba and this community, so please excuse me if I sound naive or if I'm posting this at the wrong place :)

We are using Aruba ClearPass NAC for our wired PCs for a few months now. We were running ClearPass OnGuard agent v6.3.1 on the systems for running posture checks. Our system build typically includes Symantec Endpoint Protection v12.1, Symantec DLP agent v11.x, Microsoft SCCM agent, Imprivata SSO Agent, Outlook, other Office applications, Microsoft Lync and few business applications.

We recently updated ClearPass to v6.4.1 and Symantec DLP to v12.5, and we are facing serious performance issues ever since. End user experience is severely impacted, and the applications hang frequently. Since both the agent updates were rolled out around the same time (big mistake), we are not sure which one is actually causing these issues. We have tried to narrow this down by analyzing a sample set of systems, and we are seeing confusing results so far. While we observe these issues across a lot of the systems, there are systems working perfectly fine with previous DLP versions and new OnGuard versions, and vice versa. We are getting mixed observations from the desktop support engineers as well.