Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Using Aruba CPPM to authenticate a user based on user AND computer AD group membership?

This thread has been viewed 3 times
  • 1.  Using Aruba CPPM to authenticate a user based on user AND computer AD group membership?

Posted Jun 26, 2015 08:35 AM

Hi everyone,

(Please be warned, I'm extremely new to using Aruba CPPM, so if my question seems painfully basic,  you'll know why.)

We have a cluster of 2 CPPM appliances in our environment that have done very basic authentication (EAP-PEAP, MSCHAPv2) across many different domains for wireless access. The way that it is deployed today is as follows:

1. User attempts to join our wireless network.
    2. CPPM identifies the user based on their domain, and then looks to see if they belong to a certain AD user group (this is done within various Role Mappings).
    3. If they belong to this group (varies slightly per-domain), then CPPM grants them the default "Allow Access" profile for RADIUS.

Yes, it's very, very simple. This environment was set up for us many years ago by a consultant, and has seen zero improvement/tweaking since then. As I've inherited it, I'd like to improve upon the level of security we have today, as anyone can bring ANY device into our environment and join it to our corporate wireless network, as long as the user account they use to log in (where required; for example, on an Android device/iPhone) is a member of the proper AD user group.

What I'm interested in doing is requiring a user authentication request to only be permitted if (1) the user him or herself is a member of a specific AD user group, and (2) the computer they are using (corporate-provided) is a member of a specific AD computer group. Does that make sense (I hope)?