Security

last person joined: yesterday 

Forum to discuss Enterprise security using HPE Aruba Networking NAC solutions (ClearPass), Introspect, VIA, 360 Security Exchange, Extensions, and Policy Enforcement Firewall (PEF).
Expand all | Collapse all

Using ClearPass Guest for multiple authentication methods and policies on a single SSID

This thread has been viewed 8 times
  • 1.  Using ClearPass Guest for multiple authentication methods and policies on a single SSID

Posted Mar 11, 2015 05:49 PM

Hi All,

I'm new to AirHeads, but have had extensive experience implementing Aruba about a decade ago. :) I'm about to advise on an implementation where we have three different use cases using ClearPass for guest access, and I'd like to do it on a single SSID. Let's just say the SSID is "Guest" and I want to be able to authenticate contractors who need access to the corporate Internet connection with no bandwidth restrictions and no timeout on their credentials and session (i.e. don't need to reauthenticate every day through a captive portal). The second use case is employees using personal devices that we want to push to a cheap and cheerful best effort broadband connection. We would want to apply policy to restrict bandwidth for the employees with personal devices. Both of these use cases could use PEAP to authenticate against AD credentials. The last use case is true guests/visitors that we would use a captive portal to authenticate using phone number with SMS/text for password or social login. This group would have 12 hours of access before they have to reauthenticate, would have pretty strict bandwidth throttling, and would use the best effort broadband connection.

I assume this is do-able with ClearPass, but we would have done it with different SSIDs in the old days. I have the ClearPass User Manual, but I'm not super eager to sift through all 587 pages to find what I'm looking for. Any advice or a nudge in the right direction would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,