Wired Intelligent Edge

last person joined: yesterday 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

Aruba Switch Basics

This thread has been viewed 2 times
  • 1.  Aruba Switch Basics

Posted May 08, 2013 01:41 AM

I am very new to Aruba Networks Switches. I would appriciate if I can get a basic level of support on the below.

I am configuring MODEL # S2500-24P-4X10G POE

Can we TELNET Aruba s2500 switch?

HOW CAN WE BLOCK SSH/TELNET ?

I have some basic questions for Authentication.

Question 1: Configuration> Authentication>Servers-- I have configured Internal Server with 

User name: MAC Address of Machine

Password: MAC Address of Machine

Under Role: I can see the list below

1. authenticated

2.denyall

3.guest

4.guest-logon

5.logon

Can you breifly explain the use of each, What are the roles and each role application where we have to apply each.

Question 2: Configuration> Authentication>Profile

Under AAA Profiles the default profiles are below

1.default

2.default-dot1x

3.default-mac-auth

Can you breifly explain each and application where we have to apply them.

When I click on new button .

I gave the name for my AAA Profile "TEST"

VLAN Assignment Native "1".

Port Assignment any port belongs to Native VLAN.

Under Initial role what I have to select and why?

Under user role what I have to select and why?

How Initial role is different from User Role?

User User role What is derived VLAN?

Under Authentication Method I have below Feilds

Authentication method I have selected as MAC

------------ There are two selections 

Select from a knows profile ? What is knows profile where we define it.

Specify a new profile?