Wired Intelligent Edge

last person joined: yesterday 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

Issues with DHCP relay

This thread has been viewed 9 times
  • 1.  Issues with DHCP relay

Posted Oct 31, 2019 04:07 AM

Good day,

We have a client with a setup where they have multiple DHCP scopes all being assigned from a single Windows server. 

They have a 3810M as their core switch that has DHCP relay configured. Any switch that is directly connected to that 3810M relays fine, APs and clients get addresses correctly.

However, if you are more than one switch hop from the relaying switch then devices connected to that switch will not get addresses.

I am still pretty new to networking so I'm sure I've missed something simple. If anyone is able to assist it would be greatly appreciated. I can request a copy of the switches config from the client if it's needed. 

• 2.  RE: Issues with DHCP relay

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Oct 31, 2019 06:56 AM

Could it be that you configured DHCP snooping on one or more of your switches? The DHCP snooping feature is enforcing that DHCP responses are coming from an authorized DHCP server and/or from an authorized (uplink) port. If you just enable snooping, it will block DHCP through a switch.

Here is another post on this topic.

• 3.  RE: Issues with DHCP relay

Posted Oct 31, 2019 08:50 AM

@Herman Robers wrote:

Could it be that you configured DHCP snooping on one or more of your switches? The DHCP snooping feature is enforcing that DHCP responses are coming from an authorized DHCP server and/or from an authorized (uplink) port. If you just enable snooping, it will block DHCP through a switch.

Here is another post on this topic.