Wired Intelligent Edge

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

Multiple Network Connections

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Multiple Network Connections

Posted Sep 09, 2019 06:15 PM

Excuse my ignorance but I am new to networking and kind of got thrown into it at my job. I believe I know the answer but for some reason my brain is not putting all the pieces together.

Setup:

1 Cisco Router - New Fiber connection

1 Cable Modem - Existing Cable connection

1 CradlePoint Router

2 ASA Firewalls 5506

1 Core Switch - Connects to 1 EndPoint switch (PC/Phone/etc.)

Connections:

Cisco Router to Firewall to Core Switch to EndPoint Switch

Cable Modem to CradlePoint Router to Firewall to Core Switch to EndPoint switch

We have 2 ISPs that I need to connect to a single 2540 24 port switch. I am in the process of configuring/testing out Fiber with a Firewall but the switch already has a cable ISP connection configured to it.

How can I add the 2nd network so I can test my applications and services on the network?

Once it is completed I will be using both of them as a Primary/Secondary internet connection which once again, I will need some guidance on.

If anyone could show me the direction, I would greatly appreciate it!!

Thank you in advance.

My thoughts:

I will connect the Cable to the Cisco Router so it has both internet connections for failover.

Connect to a firewall that is setup on an Active/Standby

Firewall goes to Core Switch

How would I go about configuring this for ISP A to be primary but if it fails, goes to ISP B? Different IPs, etc.