Wired Intelligent Edge

last person joined: yesterday 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

One VSF on the workbench becomes two in the rack

This thread has been viewed 12 times
  • 1.  One VSF on the workbench becomes two in the rack

Posted Mar 04, 2019 02:33 PM

Disclaimer: I am new to Aruba and not a full-time network person.

I set my four new 2930F's up on the workbench and configured a single four-member VSF. Each additional unit was added to the VSF in turn and labeled #2, #3, and #4. These are replacing obsolete switches in an operating LAN.

Everything was mounted in the rack and reconnected on Saturday. Each unit was powered up in member order and all the LEDs looked good but our test laptop couldn't get to the default gateway or a couple of the servers. A patch cable between #2 and #3 made that problem go away and on Monday there have been no calls from anybody with connectivity problems.

Plugged into #1 (the commander) I see a VSF with three active members and one missing member. The unit labeled #4 is #3 in the VSF and the one labeled #3 is missing. Plugging into #3 shows it is commander of another VSF with three missing members.

The stacking cables appear to be correct (at least for Dell switches).

1 top = 4 bottom

1 bottom = 2 top

2 bottom = 3 top

3 bottom = 4 top

Is this correct?

To turn my two VSF's into one can I just reboot #3 (the one in its own VSF)? Since this is all in production I can't just do it now and see what happens. Do I need to factory-default it?

• 2.  RE: One VSF on the workbench becomes two in the rack

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 04, 2019 03:20 PM

Greetings!