Wired Intelligent Edge

last person joined: 2 days ago 

Bring performance and reliability to your network with the HPE Aruba Networking Core, Aggregation, and Access layer switches. Discuss the latest features and functionality of your switching devices, and find ways to improve security across your network to bring together a mobile-first solution
Expand all | Collapse all

Port config question

This thread has been viewed 7 times
  • 1.  Port config question

Posted Apr 23, 2020 01:41 AM

Hello, I 'm going to upgrade our backup server. The server has a 10gig sfp+ connection. Looking for some guidance as far as config to a 2930M switch. I have an extra sfp+ module for the switch. After I connect a fiber cable between  the switch module and the dell system. Would I just add the  fiber port into the correct vlan? Does the switch have to be off when I plug in the module? I am new to Aruba  switches and still in the learning process with them. Appreciate your help! Thank you

• 2.  RE: Port config question
    Best Answer

MVP GURU
    Posted Apr 23, 2020 03:04 AM

Hi!

I suggest you to first insert the SFP+ Transceiver on the desired free slot (port) of your Aruba 2930M (it's hot plug so no switch poweroff is necessary at all).

Give it just few seconds once seated (generally I wait at least 5 seconds) before connecting the Fiber Optic cable.

The VLAN port assignment is a matter of understanding which single VLAN (if the port will be used as an Access port) or which multiple VLANs (if the port will be used to carry more than one VLAN) the switch port should be member of...considering you can untag and/or tag the port with required VLANs to cope with the peer device VLANs' assignments.