Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

30 students on 1 AP ?

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  30 students on 1 AP ?

Posted Feb 09, 2017 11:52 AM

Hi all,

i'm new to Aruba and to high density wifi as well. I read some good thing here and also found some formula, but i'd like to have some more info.

We will have some classrooms (with about 30 students) with a size of about 40m2 close to each other. Then it seem difficult to have more that one AP per classroom as it would result in channel collisions/congestion i guess, right ?

We are thinking of using AP embedded controller, there will be about 15 AP (about 15 classrooms)

I know that 310/320 serie AP could have a great density, but been able to have many connections do not mean been able to have speed for everyone.

One first thing i do not understand : 310 has 1x1Gbps link, 320 2x1Gbps link, why ? Wifi will never have such a throughput and then will never need such link, am i mistaking ?

use of the wifi will be citrix, then at least 2Mpbs is needed, 5 will be better.

But is one AP able to handle such thing ?

This also will be a BYOD system, we will have many different capability : 2.4 or 5 GHz, wifi b, g, n, ac ... and if everyone is speaking a different protocol will it result in congestion or so and if  a device is able a 5Ghz that should be important to "force" it to use 5GHz to leave 2.4 for others, right?

Any though about all of that is welcome

Thanks !

• 2.  RE: 30 students on 1 AP ?

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Feb 09, 2017 12:19 PM

• 3.  RE: 30 students on 1 AP ?

Posted Feb 10, 2017 03:17 AM

Hi Colin,

thanks for this interesting link.

Our choice was between 315 and 325

But i can see differences that i can not understand :

- 315 is doing 4x4:4SS MU-MIMO and 325 "only" 4X4:3SS

- but 325 is also doing 4x4:4SS SU-MIMO