Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

AP seeing controller but show ap active is empty!!

This thread has been viewed 5 times
  • 1.  AP seeing controller but show ap active is empty!!

Posted Sep 28, 2014 04:08 PM

Hi Forum,

I have a master-master and a local-local in my lab. Vlan 501 is a vlan that exist in the locals and the switch that connects the APs to get a dhcp address on that vlan.

My APs power up and get an IP address and the do discover the local (see attached). The controller isn’t seeing the APs thought. I have enough licensing on the controllers, and they can ping the APs as the APs can ping the controllers but show ap active and show ap database shows me nothing(attached).

So,

• DHCP is working fine
    • Ping between APs and controller is working
    • Licenses are there.
    • Vlans exists where needed
    • Did adp discovery enable on the controllers but nothing changed.

Any ideas what is missing? It usually works but this time it isn’t.

Any help is greatly appreciated.

• 2.  RE: AP seeing controller but show ap active is empty!!

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Sep 28, 2014 04:38 PM

Is the LMS-IP in the AP system profile for that AP group set to the local's IP address?

• 3.  RE: AP seeing controller but show ap active is empty!!

Posted Sep 28, 2014 04:58 PM

I don't have an ap group yet, at this point I’m trying to achieve visibility between ap and controller.

I need the APs to terminate on 172.17.11.21 and from the AP output it looks like this is happing but the controller doesn’t see the AP, it can pint the AP IP address though.

FYI, control plane security is disabled on all controllers

• 4.  RE: AP seeing controller but show ap active is empty!!

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Sep 28, 2014 05:05 PM