Wireless Access

last person joined: 8 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

AP105 - Range increase

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  AP105 - Range increase

Posted May 29, 2013 12:34 PM
      |   view attached

Hello,

I'm pretty new in networking, but got this little thing to figure out.

So my appologizes if I ask ' newb ' questions, but I can't find it anywhere so you guy's are my last hope.

Currently we are operating several Aruba AP-105 access points, which is doing great.

The thing is, this access point is not covering the whole area which we need too.

I have read stuff like increasing it with an atenna or increase it with another AP.

But before I got to that final step, I'm wondering if in the admin panel the range could be increased by just a single button.

It's operating at 5Ghz. Any more technical answers like db or mhz is hard to answer. So please if you got a possible solution answer in easy steps so even a child of 4 could understand.

So desciption in short; is it possible to increase the network coverage (range) from the AP-105 with a simple button switch or adjustment in the settings of the administration panel?

Thanks in advance.

Bjorn

• 2.  RE: AP105 - Range increase

Posted May 29, 2013 12:41 PM

in my personal option (and assuming a normal setup), no there is no such magic button. if you require more coverage get more APs.

• 3.  RE: AP105 - Range increase

Posted May 29, 2013 02:26 PM

Hi Boneyard,

Thanks for your reply, after looking around on the internet they said that there is a difference (of course there is) between 2,4 and 5Ghz. The 2,4Ghz should give more range.

Can you confirm this, and maybe tell me how I could change that in the settings?

• 4.  RE: AP105 - Range increase

Posted May 29, 2013 02:31 PM