Wireless Access

last person joined: 22 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Aruba 651

This thread has been viewed 1 times
  • 1.  Aruba 651

Posted May 31, 2016 05:17 PM
      |   view attached

Hello

This question may sound abit odd but I hope not. :) I do structured cabling and fiber etc here in calgary alberta canada and I use mainly pfsense, hp procurve products but 2 months ago I came by some Aruba IAP-93 and a Aruba 651 controller. my question is and Im sorry if I sound like a newbie here folks, but can this 651 be setup to use with my shaw cable modem as a replacement to my linksys WRT160N. Any help would be awesome people.

Thank you :)

• 2.  RE: Aruba 651

Posted May 31, 2016 05:23 PM

I donot see a problem on replacing the Linksys to Shaw modem. As long as the linksys provided public IP or Natted Private IP we should be good. 

• 3.  RE: Aruba 651

Posted May 31, 2016 06:03 PM
    Hello vkumaar

Thank you very much for getting back to me. So what your saying is that I can get rid of the linksys router WRT160N and use the Aruba 651, what port would I plug the cable modem into , 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 ? ports 0 - 3 are poe and the other ports are not poe, also I was told that the license that comes with this unit is for the poe ports.. Will this affect me at all ? :)
    \

Thank you

Terry Anderson

Structured Solutions

• 4.  RE: Aruba 651

Posted May 31, 2016 07:37 PM

Hi, 

there is no WAN and LAN ports like Linksys. These ports can be assigned to VLAN and ACT as L2 and L3 interface. You locally route and bridge the traffic using 651 controller.

• 5.  RE: Aruba 651

Posted Jun 12, 2016 04:57 AM