Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Aruba Master/ Local

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Aruba Master/ Local

Posted Mar 29, 2013 10:50 AM

Hello,

I am fairly new with the master-local setup. When this is done, what configurations are pushed to the local from the master? Also, if the radius server exist locally where the master controller is, how will I setup the radius server in the local controller? Will the local controller send the authentication to the master and the master to the radius, or will a radius server IP and shared key be manually put into the local controller? Just wondering also if authentication can be sent from local to master to radius. Not sure if a route from local to master would be sufficient.

• 2.  RE: Aruba Master/ Local
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 29, 2013 10:53 AM

@baboyero wrote:

Hello,

I am fairly new with the master-local setup. When this is done, what configurations are pushed to the local from the master? Also, if the radius server exist locally where the master controller is, how will I setup the radius server in the local controller? Will the local controller send the authentication to the master and the master to the radius, or will a radius server IP and shared key be manually put into the local controller? Just wondering also if authentication can be sent from local to master to radius. Not sure if a route from local to master would be sufficient.

Baboyero,

I would say 95% of the WLAN configuration is pushed to the local.  The radius server is part of that configuration, so on your radius server you would have to add an entry for that local controller's ip address with the same preshared key as the master.  The radius authentication is sent directly from the local controller and NOT through the master.