Wireless Access

last person joined: 10 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Aruba RAP-5 and OSPF

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Aruba RAP-5 and OSPF

Posted Jul 29, 2016 07:53 AM

Hello All,

I'll start by saying i'm new to Aruba, I recently started at a company that has the Aruba Controllers and Aruba Wireless at HQ with Aruba RAPs deployed in the field. 

One of my challenges is that the RAP controller configuration seems to be entirely layer 2. With multiple locations having multiple VLANs I now have hundreds of VLANs that are being managed on my Core Switch here at HQ. 

I would like to run OSPF at the branch and offload all of those branch gateways back to their location. The benifits i see would be:

1. Clean up my VLANs

2. Place Access Control closest to the source

3. Blocked traffic wouldn't suck up WAN bandwidth if blocked at the site. 

4. Scaling out and resilancy for failover

When i talk about blocking traffic, i think i saw ACLs in the controller, but each site might have different requirements, i'm not sure how easy that is to manage on the controller. 

Again i'm new to this product so maybe i'm thinking about this wrong. Or maybe i don't have the right product line, maybe i need to go outside the RAP at the locations. 

• 2.  RE: Aruba RAP-5 and OSPF

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jul 29, 2016 08:43 AM