Wireless Access

Occasional Contributor I

CLI Command to get usage per WLAN?

Hi there,

I'm running a few 7210s on ArubaOS v6.5.4.3.

I'm inquiring to see if anyone knows a command to get the current total throughput for a WLAN through the CLI. This is also referred to as "Usage (bps)" when viewing in the GUI under Dashboard -> WLANs.  My goal is to pull this info off the controller and put it into a network dashboard tool I'm building.

I've searched through the command reference guide and also looked seemingly everywhere in the CLI.

I'm relatively new to Aruba but I would imagine that since the datapoint is available in the GUI, it must be accessible from the CLI as well.  Is my assumption incorrect?  If so, would the API be my next best bet for getting this information?

Thanks!

Re: CLI Command to get usage per WLAN?

Occasional Contributor I

Hi Michael,

SNMP polling through snmp-walk may work - I can't believe I didn't think of that! I was so focused on building my tool using an ssh shell that I totally overlooked this possibility.  I will review the documents linked and see if I can find the appropriate OID for the data I'm seeking.

Highlighted

Great l let us know 

I'm relatively new to Aruba but I would imagine that since the datapoint is available in the GUI, it must be accessible from the CLI as well. Is my assumption incorrect?

Yes, this can be an incorrect assumption.The webui dashboards use their own mechanism for gathering stats/information - there is not always a corresponding CLI output.

That said, yes, use SNMP if you can - don't use snmpwalk however, it's more efficient (and less impact on the controller) to use specific snmpgets on the OIDs you want.

Occasional Contributor I

@jgoff wrote:

I'm relatively new to Aruba but I would imagine that since the datapoint is available in the GUI, it must be accessible from the CLI as well. Is my assumption incorrect?