Wireless Access

last person joined: 11 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Captive portal timeout issues

This thread has been viewed 12 times
  • 1.  Captive portal timeout issues

Posted Dec 16, 2011 06:56 PM

I hate to post this, but I'm new to WLAN configuration so I'm trying to find where to start.(Not new to general network config)

I have an Aruba 650 controller configured for guest access via the built in Aruba captive portal, all is working OK with one exception.  Users note that when they lose connection(leave building, sleep device, etc), they always have to re-do the captive portal login.  Is there any way to have sessions last longer when using the built in guest access?

As an example, I have a user reporting that if they walk outside far enough for signal to drop to 0, then return into the building less than a minute or 2 later, they have to go through the disclaimer page again.

Any leads on troubleshooting would be appreciated.

• 2.  RE: Captive portal timeout issues

Posted Dec 16, 2011 09:24 PM

Users should remain 'authenticated' for the duration of the timeout set under: 

Configuration/Authentication/Advanced 

Under this screen you have the ability to set various timeout values.    You will want to 'bump up'  "user idle timeout" to reduce the number of times the captive portal pops-up to the users.

I would look at what its currently at and then set for something manageable (say 15 minutes) initially to see how the user community experience improves.

• 3.  RE: Captive portal timeout issues

Posted Jan 11, 2012 05:24 AM

Does anyone know where to find this setting on the 3200 controller? We are having exactly t he same issues. As soon as a user disconnects or connects to another network, then back again, they have to re-authenticate.

Thanks

• 4.  RE: Captive portal timeout issues