Wireless Access

last person joined: 12 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Checking SSID's In Aruba

This thread has been viewed 7 times
  • 1.  Checking SSID's In Aruba

Posted Jan 25, 2019 09:03 AM

Folks, good morning!  First, I'm brand new to Aruba wireless.  I come from a Cisco background with regards to wireless access.  I was handed an Aruba wireless environment to work on.  There are 3 SSID's.  There is an Aruba AMP portal.  Here are my questions:

1) Where do you create/check on SSID's?  

2) Is AMP the equivalent of Cisco PRIME when it comes to wireless?

Any help would be much appreciated!

• 2.  RE: Checking SSID's In Aruba

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jan 25, 2019 09:36 AM
    It all depends on if you have a controller-based network or an Aruba Instant-based network.
    Your AMP (Airwave) instance can be responsible for just monitoring those devices or configuration, as well.

You can think of AMP as Aruba/HPE's version of Cisco Prime except that AMP can monitor multivendor networks, including Cisco.

• 3.  RE: Checking SSID's In Aruba

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jan 25, 2019 09:40 AM

doubled, you was answering while I was writing....

• 4.  RE: Checking SSID's In Aruba

Posted Jan 25, 2019 10:20 AM

Thank you for your answer!  To be fully transparent, I haven't a clue what type of aruba environment we have.  I just know that the AP's are broadcasting the SSID's.  I'm assuming it's a controllerless environment, since they did not give me information on a controller.  What I'm looking for, is to get into the configuration of the SSID's to take a look.  For instance, in Cisco, on the controller, you go to WLAN, and you setup or take a look at your SSID's/groups there.  

We are running AMP 8.0.10

• 5.  RE: Checking SSID's In Aruba

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jan 25, 2019 09:39 AM

Hi,

could you give more information on this: