Wireless Access

last person joined: 18 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Filtering local switched traffic in controller based solution??

This thread has been viewed 3 times
  • 1.  Filtering local switched traffic in controller based solution??

Posted Nov 25, 2015 07:16 AM

Hi

I'm new to Aruba (been working with HP MSM for many years), and I'm in the proces of converting a MSM customer to Aruba. Due to many factors we wish to create a very simple MSM like solution where a central controller manages hundreds of AP's that are all doing Local switching. We do not wan't nor have the option of using tunneling of traffic.

But one major question arises: We have fairly large subnets with a large number of clients, and in MSM i could simply activate a wireless filter that restricted the wireless clients traffic (including broadcasts) to requests that reffered to the default gateway for the client (in effect Isolating the client completely in the Wired/Wireless  L2). 

Do I have the same option when running Aruba centrally controlled AP's in local switching mode? I know i can using Instant AP's, but that's not an option here either due to Instant size limitations.

• 2.  RE: Filtering local switched traffic in controller based solution??

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 25, 2015 07:21 AM

The short answer is yes.