Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Guest VLAN to separate DSL

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Guest VLAN to separate DSL

Posted Feb 17, 2012 12:02 PM

I have a 650 running version 6.1.2 of the software.  I currently have 2 VLANs set up -- VLAN1 for employee access, and VLAN10 for Guest  For the most part these work great.  I have a separate DSL line I would like to plug into port 2 of the 650 and have all Guest internet flow through that connection -- What kind of policy do I need to add to get this done --

That being said -- I am really new to firewall policies -- if you also know of a good reference would love to know it.

barry

• 2.  RE: Guest VLAN to separate DSL

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Feb 17, 2012 01:24 PM

bedwards@shamrockbank.com wrote:

I have a 650 running version 6.1.2 of the software.  I currently have 2 VLANs set up -- VLAN1 for employee access, and VLAN10 for Guest  For the most part these work great.  I have a separate DSL line I would like to plug into port 2 of the 650 and have all Guest internet flow through that connection -- What kind of policy do I need to add to get this done --

That being said -- I am really new to firewall policies -- if you also know of a good reference would love to know it.

barry

Here are the steps you need to take:

1.  Create an Arbitrary VLAN (1000 is my favorite) on the controller

2.  Give that Arbitratry VLAN an ip address in the Range that your DSL line assigns to clients

3.  Run the command "ip cp-redirect-address <ip address of the controller in that VLAN>" to make sure guest users use the controller's ip address to bring up the page

4.  Configure a separte port on the controller to place users in that VLAN 

5.  Run the WLAN Wizard, choose guest and make sure that users are placed in the VLAN