Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Help setting up 7005

This thread has been viewed 24 times
  • 1.  Help setting up 7005

Posted Dec 07, 2016 10:20 AM

Hi Everyone. This is my first time touching or seeing an Aruba device. I was given a 7005 to eventually setup as a wireless controller, but for now I just need to get it on the network. I'm a bit more versed with Cisco devices, so I have a conceptual understanding of what I need to do - I just don't have the command line knowledge to get it done. I'm hoping someone can help.

I went through the initial config and gave the device a 10.x.x.x address, and silly me, I thought just by plugging it into our network I'd be able to get to the web interface. No such luck - I'm assuming more configuration is needed.

There's just the default vlan (1) on the device right now, so I'm assuming I need to attach this vlan to a physical port? If I wanted to assign this to port 0, what is the command line sequence I would need to accomplish this - Google hasn't provided anything definitive?

Also, the boss said make sure STP is off. I Googled how to check it, and it is indeed on,  but I can't for the life of me find the command line process to accomplish this.

If I can simply get this thing online, on the network, and into the web interface today, I will consider it a win.

THANK YOU!!

-Dave

• 2.  RE: Help setting up 7005

Posted Dec 07, 2016 10:30 AM

You shouldn't have too much trouble with the CLI if you are familiar with cisco - many commands are the same and theres always the ? to help you.

If you only have one port plugged inkto the network there should be no spanning tree issues and VLAN is enabled on all ports by default.

To disable spanning tree, enter configuration mode and enter "no spanning-tree" command to disable globally.