Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

How to Beginn - 2xControllers 7010

This thread has been viewed 7 times
  • 1.  How to Beginn - 2xControllers 7010

Posted Oct 19, 2018 09:56 AM

Hi all,

I'm completely new to Aruba Networks and controller based wifi. I hope you can help me to deploy a little setup for a Office.

What's on my desk:

2x Aruba 7010 Controller
    9x APs

I would like to use the controllers in a high redundancy cluster but I'm not sure which Deployment Mode to choose. Also I'm not sure which OS Version I can use.

I would like to install the Controllers in our Datacenter an the APs can connect via a VLAN. The local Internet breakout is also in the Datacenter.

Can you help me with this? 

Where can I find some beginner friendly informations / tutorials.

Best Regards,

Manuel

• 2.  RE: How to Beginn - 2xControllers 7010

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Oct 19, 2018 12:25 PM

What model number(s) are your APs? That will help identify the firmware versions that you can use, and potentially also the deployment models available to you.

• 3.  RE: How to Beginn - 2xControllers 7010

Posted Oct 19, 2018 01:24 PM

Hi,

the APs are IAP-315 (RW).

Thanks in advance :-)

• 4.  RE: How to Beginn - 2xControllers 7010

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Oct 19, 2018 04:32 PM

The AP-315s support AOS 6.5.0.0 as well as 8.2 and 8.3, so you have flexibility in that regard.

AOS 8 provides the most value when running with a Mobility Manager (MM). The Mobility Manager can be either a hardware or virtual appliance, and there are HA options for the MM as well, but since you did not mention that component, is it correct that you only have the two 7010 controllers and the APs?