Wireless Access

Highlighted
Regular Contributor II

How to Upgrade and Convert IAP-325 to a new version in the most efficient way?

Greetings,

This is my first project with Aruba Wireless devices.  The new controllers and Access Points were purchased 1 year ago and because there was turnover in the company the new Aruba Devices were not worked on and deployed yet.

Hence, they hired me and I am trying to get everything working as soon as possible.  I noticed that when I Powered On one of the new Access Points (IAP-325, right out of the box) it had verison 6.444 and I was not able convert the IAP to a CAP.  Aruba support assisted me in upgrading the version to 6.5 and then I was able to convert the Instant-AP to a Campus-AP.

We have 48 different AP's that we would like to update that have never been powered on. I know how to update the AP's individually; but...

Question1:  Is there an easier way to do an upgrade for all of the new AP's (An Instant-AP Cluster perhaps)?  

Question2:  When the new AP's have been converted and recognized by the mobility controller (veriosn 8.3.0.3), will the new CAP be automatically upgraded to verison 8.0.3 or wil that happen when they are provisioned?

Accepted Solutions
Highlighted
Guru Elite

Re: How to Upgrade and Convert IAP-325 to a new version in the most efficient way?

1.  Form as large a cluster as you can with the IAPs, and then convert them all at the same time.

2.  The access points will have whatever version of ArubaOS is on the controller after you convert them.

*Answers and views expressed by me on this forum are my own and not necessarily the position of Aruba Networks or Hewlett Packard Enterprise.*
ArubaOS 8.5 User Guide
InstantOS 8.5 User Guide
Airheads Knowledgebase
Airheads Video Knowledge Base
Remote Access Point Solution Guide
ArubaOS Consolidated Release Notes
ArubaOS 8 ViA VPN Solution Guide

View solution in original post

Highlighted
Regular Contributor II