Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Internet access and Wireless communication within VLAN

This thread has been viewed 6 times
  • 1.  Internet access and Wireless communication within VLAN

Posted Aug 20, 2020 03:13 PM

I am new to Aruba as far as configuring things on the controller.  The only thing I’ve done up to this point is provision APs on a system I inherited.  I’ll first describe our current setup, then will explain what I’m trying to accomplish, followed by where I’m currently at.   

Our current setup:

At our college we have three SSID (employee, student, and guest).  Employee and student are authenticated on a radius server, guest via captive portal.  All AP and client IP address are handed out by our DHCP server.  The 26 wireless VLANS for the three SSIDs are divided equally on the 7210 controller trunk ports 1 and 2 (employee 10.30.0.2-10.30.2.2, guest 10.31.0.2-10.31.3.2, and student 10.32.0.2-10.33.9.2).  The APs are given an IP address from the DHCP server depending on the scope of the building they’re in (In this case, our Health Careers building, wired VLAN 19, 10.1.19.x).  All campus APs are in the same AP group (APGroup-All).  Our wired and wireless are separate.  A student in the Health Careers building will have a wired IP of 10.1.19.x and a wireless IP, campus wide, from in the range of 10.32.0.2-10.33.9.2.

What I need to accomplish: