Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Is it normal that the local controllers cannot reach the standby master?

This thread has been viewed 7 times
  • 1.  Is it normal that the local controllers cannot reach the standby master?

Posted Dec 07, 2015 12:31 PM

Hi,

I have a setup with a master-standby redundancy and several pairs of active-active local controllers.

The local controllers can reach the active master (physical and VRRP address), but not the standby master controller, even if they are in the same VLAN.

The standby master can reach the active master (physical and vrrp) and all other devices in the VLAN of the local controlelrs, except the local controllers themselves. I've done a Wireshark trace and the standby master controller isn't sending out any packet while pinging the locals.

VRRP failover works fine and at the moment of failover the new active master can reach all locals. At that moment the new standby master (previous active master) stops being able to reach the locals and vice-versa.

Is this normal behaviour?

Thx

• 2.  RE: Is it normal that the local controllers cannot reach the standby master?
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Dec 07, 2015 12:38 PM

Yes, that is normal and expected. There are no issues in your setup. 

Thanks, 

Rajaguru Vincent 

• 3.  RE: Is it normal that the local controllers cannot reach the standby master?

Posted Dec 09, 2015 02:54 AM

What could be the reason behind this? 

I see that there are IPSEC routes on the standby without an IPSEC tunnel, so that makes sense. However, TAC seems to disagree with the fact that it is normal behaviour.

• 4.  RE: Is it normal that the local controllers cannot reach the standby master?

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Dec 09, 2015 06:14 PM

Hi Peter,

You are correct. Here is the explanation,