Wireless Access

last person joined: 20 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Master Local Redundancy

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Master Local Redundancy

Posted May 12, 2012 03:02 PM

Hello,

I've done a lot of reading on the redundancy options but am having trouble understanding the best solution for my topology. I have a master controller working properly and am deploying a second controller in another campus that will host access points for that site. I'd like to have these controllers back each other up so if one fails, all of its access points can reconnect to the other controller. I believe this should be in a master / local configuration but my questions follow

1. As AP's in site 2 boot and register to the master via the dhcp name aruba-master, how do I force them to re-register to the local? I've created an ap-group and a virtual-ap but I don't see a way to tell that group where its local controller is.

2. If the controller in site 1 is a master and site 2 is a local can they back each other up properly? How do I define the backup controller for the AP?

Thanks for any advice

• 2.  RE: Master Local Redundancy

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 12, 2012 04:01 PM