Wireless Access

last person joined: 19 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Mesh Setup on 3200XM with iAP-275s?

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Mesh Setup on 3200XM with iAP-275s?

Posted Nov 09, 2015 09:51 AM

Has anyone setup a mesh network using iAP-275s and a 3200XM controller?   I am told by the Aruba techs that is a very common setup but I have had two of them try to get it working here with no to little success.   

Any advice is appreciated.  I am very new to this and basically have been working with them remoted into and doing most of the work.  

The problem we are having is that when a client connects to the WiFi via a 275 setup up as a Campus AP and acting as a Mesh Point, the client is unable to get any web pages and cannot even get the Guest Login page on ClearPass.   But when the same client connects to the same WiFi but to a 275 setup as a Remote AP and acting as a Mesh Portal, everything works fine.   

We have been trying this for over three weeks now and coming into our deadline for this to work.   Any help or request for more information will be much appreciated.  

• 2.  RE: Mesh Setup on 3200XM with iAP-275s?

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 09, 2015 10:48 AM

Would need more details on what you are trying to do and how you are setting up your mesh. Remote Mesh Portal is NOT a common deployment.

So you have two IAP-275s that are running as mesh devices?

One is a portal and the other is a point and they both show up in the controller?

What channel is the 5Ghz?

Are you doing tunneled or bridged?

Are both in the same AP gorup and there is no 'ap-specific' config?

What firmware version?

If you want to email me your tech-support, shoot it to jhoward -at- arubanetworks -dot- com. I've done this more times than I can count and it should work fine

• 3.  RE: Mesh Setup on 3200XM with iAP-275s?