Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

New APs in a Master/local

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  New APs in a Master/local

Posted Feb 05, 2020 09:38 AM

Hi,

I have a situation Master/local. 2 Master and some sites with 1 or 2 local controllers. all the APs are in the local controllers.

The APs has a VLAN in the local site, not extended to the central (Master controller).

when we deploy new APs I have a lot of problems to configure them, so I have some questions:

- I need to route the local AP_VLAN to have access to the master controller. the APs need to add to the master controller and later I asign an AP_Group.

- it posible do this with a tunnel GRE?

-Wich is the best or usual configuration to do this deployment?

Normally Is use IAP, and need to convert them first...

Thanks in advance!

Samuel

• 2.  RE: New APs in a Master/local

Posted Feb 05, 2020 09:55 AM

Hi Samuel,

I normally use DNS or DHCP to point the AP's to the correct controller.

with DNS, I would configure an entry for "Aruba-master" which would point to the management IP of the controller, in your case local controller.

If you did not want to use DHCP or DNS then you can use Aruba discovery protocol (ADP). Aruba APs send out periodic multicast and broadcast queries to locate the master controller however this is a layer 2 protocol and in your case wouldn't work but you could put the AP's on the same L2 network and then move them once they have been provisioned on the controller.

My prefered way of doing this however is using DHCP option 43 and 60 as below:

DHCP Option 43 =  <IP of Controller>

DHCP Option 60 = ArubaAP

With the newer AP's, if they are factory default they discover the controller in the following order:

statically assigned IP / DHCP / ADP / DNS

Thanks,