Wireless Access

last person joined: 23 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

Posted Feb 22, 2017 03:54 PM

We have a few 205 IAPs and they don't seem to respond to ARP requests from wired connection and neither from wired lan. Any idea what could be wrong with their configuration?

• 2.  RE: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Feb 22, 2017 04:14 PM
    What's the output of the console on boot up of the IAP?

• 3.  RE: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

Posted Feb 23, 2017 01:01 AM

Hmm, I'm a newbie with Arubas, so I don't even know how to see that boot screen?

• 4.  RE: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Feb 22, 2017 04:24 PM

@sohannin wrote:

We have a few 205 IAPs and they don't seem to respond to ARP requests from wired connection and neither from wired lan. Any idea what could be wrong with their configuration?

When you say "arp requests", what are you trying to do?

• 5.  RE: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

Posted Feb 23, 2017 12:57 AM

Trying to ping them. They respond intermittently to ping, but not always. I see a lot of destination unreachable messages for packets destined to them.

• 6.  RE: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Feb 23, 2017 01:29 AM

Are those APS present in the CAM/ARP table of the layer 3 switch?

• 7.  RE: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

Posted Feb 23, 2017 01:34 AM

No, they don't seem to appear there either. Other devices from the same network are in the arp table.

• 8.  RE: Our IAP 205 doesn't respond to ARP broadcasts

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Feb 23, 2017 02:36 AM

Do you have the AP plugged into ethernet 0?