Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

RV WiFiRanger Connect Issues

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  RV WiFiRanger Connect Issues

Posted Mar 19, 2019 03:30 PM

Hello everyone,

We installed 9 AP365 waps in an RV Park a while ago and they work really well however, I just received a call from the park manager that they were having no success getting any WiFiRangers connected to the system. I have no personal experience with said WiFiRangers and there are currently none in the park, so diagnosing will be a problem.

My basic understanding is that these devices scan the available networks, the user can select which one to connect to and then after connection, all devices are natted behind the WiFiRanger. Yes?

Does anybody have any experience with these WiFiRangers and or have any pointers on getting them connected correctly? Thank you.

• 2.  RE: RV WiFiRanger Connect Issues

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 19, 2019 06:09 PM

I'm not familiar with the WiFiRanger either. What security method are you running on the SSID(s) at the RV park; open (with or without captive portal) or WPA2?

• 3.  RE: RV WiFiRanger Connect Issues

Posted Mar 19, 2019 06:58 PM

@cclemmer Thank you. We set this up as WPA-2 and without any splash page. Basically, you see an SSID, click it, enter passphrase and you're online.

DHCP is handed out from a Sophos XG230 for each VLAN individually.

• 4.  RE: RV WiFiRanger Connect Issues

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 19, 2019 08:58 PM

This is what I found with a quick google search:

https://wifiranger.com/ and https://wifiranger.com/images/guides/WiFiRanger_ProductComparison.pdf