Wireless Access

last person joined: 16 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Radius Server

This thread has been viewed 14 times
  • 1.  Radius Server

Posted May 03, 2012 10:57 AM

I'm having problem setting up authentication to Microsoft AD, I'm think of setting up ubuntu 11.10 server as a Radius server with freeradius.  I can't seem to find documentation on how to configure this. Any recommendations?

• 2.  RE: Radius Server

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 03, 2012 11:16 AM

Did you do a search for Windows 2008 in the forums?  There is a guide there...

• 3.  RE: Radius Server

Posted May 03, 2012 11:44 AM

I'm new to airheads, feeling my way around.

• 4.  RE: Radius Server

Posted May 03, 2012 11:51 AM

I did the search, but not finding anything on Linux Ubuntu freeradius.

• 5.  RE: Radius Server

Posted May 03, 2012 01:10 PM

Hello,

I developed Aruba - Windows 2008 R2 radius authention system with 802.1X PEAP.

I tried the same research in technet.microsoft.com or msdn, but there was not a good document.

Here I am going to explain required steps for Windows 2008 R2 server:

1. On Active directory or any member server (server which joins in the domain) install Active Directory Certificate Services

On Server Manager click Add Roles

Click Next to continue

Choose Active Directory Certificate Services and click Next

Click Next to continue

Click Certification Authority and click Next

Click Enterprise and click Next (Note: You need Windows 2008 R2 Enterprise version to choose Enterprise. If you have Windows 2008 R2 standard, you can only choose standalone)

Click Root CA and click Next

Choose Create a new private key and click Next

Keep dafault values (RSA#Microsoft Software Key Storage Provider 2048 , SHA1) and click Next

Keep the common name as displayed and click Next

Set Validity period (5 Years for CA) and click Next