Wireless Access

last person joined: 20 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Re-provision RAPs on 6.1.4 controller to a 5.x controller to update their image from 3.x rn to 5

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  Re-provision RAPs on 6.1.4 controller to a 5.x controller to update their image from 3.x rn to 5

Posted Dec 29, 2012 10:11 AM

Seasonal Greetings!

I am fairly new to Aruba and have been stumbling around with a few issues lately.

Half of our RAPs are stuck on "upgrading" for days following a code upgrade on the 3600 controllers from ArubaOS 6.1.3.1 to 6.1.4.1

From what I understand after reading the posts here that RAPs with image version 3.x in their "provisioning/backup partition" will not connect to controllers running 6.1 code. (but I got a few  3.x RAPs connecting successfully to our controller!)

I would like to know if the following is possible:

Re-provision  the 3.x imaged RAPs (mainly RAP2s and some RAP5s) from the 6.1 controller they are currently provisioned on to another 3600 controller  with 5.x code.  Then I can update their backup partition to the 5.x code.  Then re-provision them back to the production controller running the 6.1.4 code?

I would like to do this without end user intervension (over 80 in this case) and silently (most users are on holiday), so as to minimise the disruption.  Any kind of special RAP commands that I could send from the 6.1 controller to tell these RAPs to provision to another IP address and vice versa?

Since I wasn't involved in the previous controller upgrades, I missed the bit about the RAPs "backup partition issue" in the release notes for code 6.1.4

Any suggestions on how best  to get this sorted, without much end user intrevention, would be most appreciated.

Thanks in advance

RK