Wireless Access

last person joined: 22 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Remote AP connection via IPsec

This thread has been viewed 5 times
  • 1.  Remote AP connection via IPsec

Posted Jan 29, 2015 11:36 PM

Hello:

I am brand new to Aruba. I am testing some Aruba equipments right now. The AP that is local to my controller (7005) are working fine. The problem I have is with the 225AP at a remote location. Here is the basic setup

225 --SW--- PA(Firewall) ------IPSEC -------PA(Firewall) -------Controller 7005---DNS Server

From the remote network, I can ping aruba-master and resolve via nslookup. Once the AP got the DHCP address, I can ping the AP from the controller and the controller from the AP. But the AP will never assocaite with the controller. 

I have try to console into the AP, it will sit at the Master:    screen, then reboot. I did try to hardcode the controller IP, once I did that. The AP will show up inside the controller with the I,D Flag but I cannot do anything to it. I try to change the profile, but the AP never restart. 

I did a capture on both end of the firewall, some UDP aruba-papi traffic got drop. I suspect MTU between the tunnel was the problem. I drop the MTU to 1400 but no luck. 

I did plug the AP at the local network at first and all work fine, but once I relocate them. It stop working...

Have anyone run into a similar problem? Any suggestion would be appreciated. 

Gary 

#AP225

• 2.  RE: Remote AP connection via IPsec

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Jan 30, 2015 01:14 AM
    Go to configuration> wireless> ap configuration. Edit the ap-group that your access point is in. Expand Ap > System Profile. Click on Ap System Profile. If there is an LMS-IP, remove it.

• 3.  RE: Remote AP connection via IPsec

Posted Jan 30, 2015 02:50 AM