Wireless Access

last person joined: 18 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Replaced Standby Controller, RAP now not connecting

This thread has been viewed 6 times
  • 1.  Replaced Standby Controller, RAP now not connecting

Posted May 21, 2014 06:13 PM

I have a VRRP based MASTER-MASTER redundancy, within the same network setup. 

Failover for the controllers works well.

I have CAPs and RAPs, and also a seperate Instant network VPN connection within my setup.

I originally had a W-7210 and W-7240 as the two controllers, but recently replaced the W-7240 with a W-7210.

I'm assuming the models are not important in my issue.

As far as I can tell, I have exactly replicated the controller config that I replaced on the new one.

When I intentionally fail the Active controller, the standby picks up as designed.  The CAPs move over to the standby(now Master) controller.  The VPN connection from my Instant network also gets reestablished.

The only thing wrong is the RAP doesn't reconnect to the new active Master. It stays down.

Manually rebooting the RAP doesn't help either.

I've reset the Instant and converted it to a RAP again, after completing the controller replacement. I did this just in case there was seom behind the scenes database info that replacing one of the controllers woudl cause an issue.

Is there anything I'm missing or can check?  

The RAP console only says "Transport endpoint is not connected"

Othe than that it correctly uses ADP to find/confirm the Master.

Regards,

Colin 

• 2.  RE: Replaced Standby Controller, RAP now not connecting

EMPLOYEE
    Posted May 21, 2014 06:16 PM

Did you check the RAP whitelist on the standby to see if that AP is in there?

Do you have a VPN pool configured on the standby? (that config is individual to each controller).