Wireless Access

last person joined: 9 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Single VLAN architecture without Mobility Controller

This thread has been viewed 8 times
  • 1.  Single VLAN architecture without Mobility Controller

Posted Mar 14, 2019 03:58 AM

Hi guys,

I am new to Aruba products. I had been tasked to deploy 15 unit of IAP-314 in a coworking space without Mobility Controller to support 6,000 devices. I searched around the forum and understand that there are 2 ways to deploy,

1.) VLAN pooling

2.) Sinlge VLAN architecture

I read the VRD for Single VLAN Architecture for Wireless LAN and prefer this deployment. However, the VRD or threads in this forum always associate with a controller for single VLAN architecture. I wonder the Virtual Controller come with Aruba Instant OS able to do the same thing?

Here are the requirements I have,

1.) Single floor coworking space with 15 IAP

2.) 6000 devices (not concurrent)

3.) Roaming among IAP

Thank you.

• 2.  RE: Single VLAN architecture without Mobility Controller
    Best Answer

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Mar 14, 2019 04:25 AM

if you are deploying as an instant cluster you will have a limitation of 2,000 users/devices on the cluster at one point in time.

IAP's switch traffic locally so you can't provide VLAN pooling.  It also isnt recommnded to use "single VLAN architecture" without a mobility controller, as the Firewall on the MC will provide the optimisations required to support this.

i would also suggest you find out what your concurrent device count is going to be, as you may need to deploy higher end AP's such as the 345 to support a VHD network.

• 3.  RE: Single VLAN architecture without Mobility Controller

Posted Mar 14, 2019 05:25 AM

Hi Matthew,