Wireless Access

last person joined: yesterday 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

Split tunnel for RAP's

This thread has been viewed 13 times
  • 1.  Split tunnel for RAP's

Posted Mar 14, 2013 11:59 PM

Hey folks,

We have a configuration with a mixture of AP93's and RAP2WG's across the region. Currently, users authenticate to the SSID via AD credentials and they then have access to all machines at all locations, including head office where the controller is located.

The customer has requested we change to the following configuration;

All remote AP's to provide DHCP addresses from their local routers at the remote offices.

Users authenticate as normal

Segregate the AP's from head office and each other.

I believe this can be achieved with split tunnelling with the following configuration (please bear with my here, I'm fairly new to Aruba configuration);

1) New ACL that pushes ALL traffic to local environment:

Ip access-list session Split-Tunnel-RAP-ACL
                    any any any route src-nat

2) New User Role:

User-role Split-Tunnel-RAP-Role
                    access-list session Split-Tunnel-RAP-ACL
                    access-list session allowall

3) New AAA profile:

Aaa profile “Split-Tunnel-RAP-AAA”
                    initial-role “Split-Tunnel-RAP-Role”

4) New VAP:
    Wlan
    virtual-ap “Split-Tunnel-RAP-VAP”

aaa-profile “Split-Tunnel-RAP-AAA”

ssid-profile “PB-Net-ssid_prof”

vap enable

vlan 2

forward-mode split-tunnel

rap-operation standard

band-steering

And then I can replace the AAA profile and VAP selected in my existing AP group to roll out all these changes to the RAPs?

Also of note, I have yet to configure a VAP (a colleague of mine configured this controller from scratch). Under VLAN's in the GUI of my controller, the only VLAN configured is of ID 2, so I assume this is the ID I give here.