Wireless Access

last person joined: 15 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

UDP Broadcasting on Aruba for GL Assessment app

This thread has been viewed 0 times
  • 1.  UDP Broadcasting on Aruba for GL Assessment app

Posted Nov 02, 2015 04:31 AM

Good Morning - Airhead newbie here!

We don't seem to be able to get the GL assessment app working in any of our schools on the Virtual ip side of the Wifi. We have a seperate SSID for all mobile devices, the other SSID gives out a domain dhcp address - if we switch the iPads to the domain dhcp the app works. The iPad sends out a broadcast to search for other devices.

We cannot allow due to scoping, mobile devices to be picking up domain level DHCP.

Is the only way to set an airplay group? Any help here would be most appreciated. (we don't have Clearpass or Airwave)

Thanks

Darren

• 2.  RE: UDP Broadcasting on Aruba for GL Assessment app

EMPLOYEE
    Posted Nov 02, 2015 04:44 AM

Is there a link for the technical requirements of the app?

Do all the devices need to be in the same subnet?

If the app does not support airplay or dlna, Airgroup will probably not help.

• 3.  RE: UDP Broadcasting on Aruba for GL Assessment app

Posted Nov 02, 2015 05:05 AM
      |   view attached

Hi Colin

This is the email I received from GL Assessment Tech support which didn't seem to really help. (Attached)

'Attached is the specification of Adobe's FTMP protocol which is what handles the communications between the tablets. This protocol is entirely third party, the app only uses it to broadcast.