Wireless Access

last person joined: 21 hours ago 

Access network design for branch, remote, outdoor, and campus locations with HPE Aruba Networking access points and mobility controllers.
Expand all | Collapse all

VLANs and SSIDs

This thread has been viewed 8 times
  • 1.  VLANs and SSIDs

Posted Dec 06, 2019 05:45 AM
    I'm an experienced Cisco Wireless Architect, working to convert to Aruba, and I just want to check my understanding of some design aspects. Sorry its a long post, but mostly the answers will be "OK" or "No, don't do it!". This all relates to OS8, 70xx/72xx controllers and 5xx APs. I have 4 communities of users: "corporate" users which will authenticate using IEEE802.1x/EAP-TLS; "Guest" users, which will be unauthenticated but which will have a splash page for the user to accept an AUP; "Semi-Trusted" users, which will authenticate by PSK (MPSK?) and "CardReaders", which consists of hand-held devices with no supplicant or ability to actively authenticate, so will use MAC Authentication Bypass (MAB). First question: because of the nature of the client devices, I plan to use 4 SSIDs. I could use dynamic VLAN assignment (by ClearPass-driven CoA) if two or more communities had the same authentication method, but that is not the case, so I need 4 VLANs unless someone can suggest a better way (please?). With regards the card readers, I *must* put them on a separate VLAN which I can then pass to a firewall to implement secondary security measures, because MAB is about as secure as leaving the front door open. Second Question: I plan to put the APs on switch ports assigned to an AP management VLAN and have each of the SSIDs tunnel back over that VLAN to the controllers (IPSec? GRE? with Cisco there is no option, it's CAPWAP or CAPWAP). Then, when the tunnels arrive at the WLC, break them out to LANs, a separate one associated with each SSID. I can then take the LANs back out the WLC on a trunk to a L3 switch, where I will configure a VLAN SVI, so keep t